Top facebook2x Top youtube2x Top instagram2x Top phone2x 503-451-0061 Top email2x Email us Top subscribe2x Subscribe Top search2x Basket Login Join
Home / Opportunities / Island Sailing Club Scholarship
Home / Opportunities / Island Sailing Club Scholarship

Island Sailing Club Scholarship

Island Sailing Club: It's time to turn the motor off

We appreciate our many outstanding OWSA volunteers!  We are excited to be able to extend an ISC Scholarship to our volunteer members who have been a member for at least two years, have a documented record of volunteering with OWSA, and a passion for sailing.  We are grateful to Island Sailing Club for their partnership in extending this opportunity to OWSA members!

Woman at the tiller of a small sailboat with lovely grayish clouds above

The scholarship application for 2023 is located at the bottom of this page.  Applications are due January 7, 2023.

The Island Sailing Club Scholarship is a one-year membership to Island Sailing Club (ISC) provided by ISC and OWSA. This is a value of over $3,238.00!!  Each year up to two OWSA members who are outstanding volunteers are awarded the scholarship, which includes the one-year membership in addition to the ASA 101 Basic Sailing Class through ISC. Members have access to 23' ISC boats for the year. In addition, the ISC Scholarship winners receive discounts on additional classes and membership at ISC. The Island Sailing Club scholarship gives OWSA members the opportunity to build sailing skills and confidence as a skipper. ISC members experience the decision-making process of planning outings, gathering crew, and choosing activities and/or destinations. Current Island Sailing Club members are not eligible for this scholarship. 

2023 Goals:

  • We recommend that the OWSA members complete their course together; course dates will become available March, 2023
  • Registration for course dates must be completed by April 2023 to ensure enrollment
  • Membership begins when the first recipient completes their course (if the course is not completed together)
  • Scholarship recipients will abide by all Island Sailing Club guidelines and policies
  • Scholarship recipients will use the boats for personal use only (no sailing lessons, chartering, etc. involving any payment or remuneration for the use of the boat)

Contact Rear Commodore if you have questions.

Scholarship Winners - Sailing Opportunities and Mentoring

Prior ISC Scholarship Winners can be contacted by OWSA members for mentoring opportunities. 

Scholarship winners over the years are:

2023 - this could be you!

2022 - Allison Chown

2021 - Colleen LaCavita, Laura Gadley 

2020 - Katie Wojciechowski, Coleen Belisle (rolled over to 2021, however, both ladies declined due to personal commitments)

2019 - Kathleen Winterling, Leeta Anderson, Jamie Alexander, Caryn Ruch

2018 - Amber Diaz, Katie Braun, Mindy Fry, Sumi Wu

2017 - Carisa Bohus, Carin Berg, Debra Burke, Bernadette LeLevier

2016 - Sherry Buchanan, Elaine Ginader, Jenny Kelley, Terry Layton

2015 - Lori Conner, Debbie Graham, Nikole Kolander, Ellen Van Rossum

2014 - Cyd Dashkoff, Andrea Mitchell, Jan Steinbock, Alice Stuckey

2013 - Sue Geister, Nancy Marshall, Edye Parker, Erica Spooner

2012 - Lynda Davis, Sally Jo Edward, Julia Meyer, Kathy Phillips

2011 - Liv Aamot, Becky Belding, Susan Gierga, Michelle Williamson

2010 - Beth Collins, Susan Holtorf, Nancy Marshall, Margery Wagoner

2009 - Kitty Church, Teri Moore, Shelly Shott, Nicole Sirois

Island Sailing Club Scholarship Application:

Top facebook2x Top youtube2x Top instagram2x
© 2023 Oregon Womens Sailing Association powered by Sailing Club Manager